FACULTY & STAFF DIRECTORY

Faculty

NAME Title EMAIL OFFICE RESEARCH INTERESTS
Aaron Keen Department Chair akeen@calpoly.edu 14-254 Programming Languages, Compilers, Static Analysis, CS Education
Paul Anderson Professor pander14@calpoly.edu 14-222  AI, machine learning, bioinformatics, data science, genomics, proteomics, metabolomics, ranking algorithms, and fairness. 
Adnan Anwar Lecturer   14-213  
Hisham Assal Lecturer hhassal@calpoly.edu 14-240  
Stephen Beard Assistant Professor srbeard@calpoly.edu 14-214 Security, Architecture, Compilers, Language, Performance
John Bellardo Professor bellardo@calpoly.edu 14-235D Satellites, Embedded Systems, Networks, Operating Systems, Distributed Systems, Security
Bruce Burton Lecturer baburton@calpoly.edu  TBA  
Rodrigo Canaan Assistant Professor rcanaan@calpoly.edu  14-207 AI, Games, Co-Creativity, Evolutionary Computing, Quality-Diversity Algorithms, Machine Learning, Reinforcement Learning
John Clements Professor clements@calpoly.edu 14-208 Programming Languages, Notional Machines for Computing Education, Continuation Marks, Functional Languages, Compilers, Music, CS Education
Bruno da Silva Assistant Professor bcdasilv@calpoly.edu 14-223 Human and Social Aspects in SE, Tools for Software Development Productivity, SE Education, Software Developer Experience, Mining Software Repositories, Emotion and Sentiment Analysis applied to Software
Bruce DeBruhl Associate Professor bdebruhl@calpoly.edu 14-210 Security and Privacy, Automotive Security, Wireless Security, Software Security
Alex Dekhtyar Professor dekhtyar@calpoly.edu 14-212  Databases, Machine Learning, Data Science, Software Engineering
Christian Eckhardt Assistant Professor eckhardt@calpoly.edu 14-238D  
Sussan Einakian Lecturer seinakia@calpoly.edu 14-202  
Phoenix (Dongfeng) Fang Assistant Professor dofang@calpoly.edu 14-210  
Daniel Frishberg  Assistant Professor dfrishbe@calpoly.edu 14-223  
Hasmik Gharibyan Professor hghariby@calpoly.edu 14-203  Theoretical Computer Science
Javier Gonzalez-Sanchez Assistant Professor javiergs@calpoly.edu  14-227 Software Engineering, Intelligent Systems Engineering, Software Product Lines, Human-Computer Interaction, Emotion AI (Affective Computing), Machine Learning, Augmented Reality, CS Education
April Grow Assistant Professor amgrow@calpoly.edu  14-209  Games, Physical Crafts, Procedural Generation
Bret Hartman Lecturer bahartma@calpoly.edu 14-240  
Paul Hatalsky Lecturer phatalsk@calpoly.edu 14-206  
Michael Haungs Professor mhaungs@calpoly.edu 181-221 Game Design, Game Implementation, User Centered Design, User Experience, Mobile Apps, Web Apps, CSC Education, K12 STEAM Outreach
Irene Humer Lecturer ihumer@calpoly.edu Virtual  
Brian Jones Lecturer btjones@calpoly.edu 14-236  
Ayaan Kazerouni Assistant Professor ayaank@calpoly.edu 14-229  Computing Education, Software Engineering, Software Testing
Tim Kearns Associate Professor tkearns@calpoly.edu 14-245  
BJ Klingenberg Lecturer bklingen@calpoly.edu  14-228 Programing Languages, Compilers, Static Analysis, CS Education
Ken Kubiak Lecturer kubiak@calpoly.edu 14-228  
Foaad Khosmood Professor foaad@calpoly.edu 14-204 Artificial Intelligence, Natural Language Processing, Video Games, Data Science, Digital Government
Franz Kurfess Professor fkurfess@calpoly.edu 14-203 AI, Human-Computer Interaction, Ethics and Social Justice in AI and Machine Learning
Ulf Lindqvist Lecturer ulindqvi@calpoly.edu 14-240 Security, Critical Infrastructures, Applied Cryptography
 Chris Lupo Professor clupo@calpoly.edu 14-102  Computer Architecture, Parallel and GPU Computing, Performance Optimization
Ryan Matteson Lecturer rmatteso@calpoly.edu 14-240  
Andrew Migler Lecturer amigler@calpoly.edu Virtual  
Theresa Migler Assistant Professor tmigler@calpoly.edu 14-226  Graph Theory, Algorithm Design, Network Analysis, CS Education, CS Outreach, CS Theory (Complexity)
Kirsten Mork Lecturer klmork@calpoly.edu 14-236  
Joydeep Mukherjee Assistant Professor jmukherj@calpoly.edu 14-219 Software Performance Engineering, Cloud Computing, Internet of Things, Machine Learning, DevOps
Sumona Mukhopadhyay Professor mukhopad@calpoly.edu 14-217  Data Science, Machine Learning, Object Detection, Open CV
  Professor      
Phillip Nico Professor pnico@calpoly.edu 14-205  
Maria Pantoja Associate Professor mpanto01@calpoly.edu 14-211 High Performance Computing, Parallel Programming (OpenMP and GPU), Distributed Systems (MPI and goLang), Reliability in Distributed Systems, Acceleration of Deep Learning
David Parkinson Lecturer dsparkin@calpoly.edu 14- 240  
Zachary N J Peterson Associate Professor znjp@calpoly.edu 14-235B Security, Cryptographic Engineering, Computer Security Education, Storage Systems, Games and Play, Interactive Fiction, Interactive Art, Applied Cryptography
Lucas Pierce Lecturer  lupierce@calpoly.edu 14-215  
John Planck Lecturer jplanck@calpoly.edu 20-200  
Vanessa Rivera Lecturer vcrivera@calpoly.edu 14-202  
Mugizi Rwebangira Assistant Professor mrwebang@calpoly.edu 14-218 Machine Learning, AI, Computational Neuroscience
John Seng Professor jseng@calpoly.edu 14-231 Robotics, Embedded Systems, Computer Architecture
Devkishen Sisodia Assistant Professor dsisodia@calpoly.edu 14-221  
Christopher Siu Lecturer cesiu@calpoly.edu 14-236  
Lubomir Stanchev Professor lstanche@calpoly.edu 14-230  Databases, Semantic Computing, Machine Learning, Data Science
Ka Yaw Teo Assistant Professor kteo@calpoly.edu    
Jonathan Ventura Associate Professor jventu09@calpoly.edu 14-235C  Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Augmented and Virtual Reality, Remote Sensing
Kurt Voelker Lecturer kvoelker@calpoly.edu 14-202  
Jenny Wang Lecturer jwang96@calpoly.edu 14-240  
Zoë Wood Professor zwood@calpoly.edu 14-235B  Computer Graphics, Rendering, Games, Visualization, Computer Science Education
Julie Workman  Lecturer  jworkman@calpoly.edu  14-206  

Affiliated Faculty

NAMEEMAILOFFICE
Jane Lehr – Professor & Chair Women & Gender Studiesjlehr@calpoly.edu47-25F
Dennis Sun – Assistant Professor Statisticsdsun09@calpoly.edu25-109
Enrica Lovaglio Costello – Art and Designelovagli@calpoly.edu 34-163
Jean Davidson – Biological Sciencesjdavid06@calpoly.edu 33-267

Active Emeriti

NAMEEMAILOFFICE
Charles Dana – Professorchdana@calpoly.edu14-240
Tim Kearns – Associate Professortkearns@calpoly.edu14-245

Staff

NAME POSITION EMAIL
Leanne Fiorentino Administrative Support Coordinator lfiorent@calpoly.edu
Teresa Medrano Administrative Analyst Specialist tlmedran@calpoly.edu

WInter 2024 FACULTY OFFICE HOURS

                 
Name Office Cal Poly Email Office Hours How to Connect Connection Information
Anderson, Paul 14-222 pander14@calpoly.edu M 3-6 PM In person  
Awan, Adnan 14-213 adawan@calpoly.edu Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays: 10:00 am to 11:00 am
Tuesdays and Thursdays: 11:00 am to 01:00 pm
email: adawan@calpoly.edu  
Beard, Stephen 14-214 srbeard@calpoly.edu Monday 1:10 pm to 2 pm
Tuesday 5:10 pm to 6 pm
Friday 11:10 am to 12 pm
in person; zoom (preference given to in person) https://calpoly.zoom.us/my/stephen.beard
Bellardo, John 14-235D bellardo@calpoly.edu T 1340-1430, W 1410-1500, R 1340-1430 In Person  
Canaan, Rodrigo 14-207 rcanaan M 10am-12pm, R 3pm-5pm In person or zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/my/rcanaan
Clements, John 14-208 clements@calpoly.edu M 10am-11am, T 9am-11am, F 11am-12pm In person  
DeBruhl, Bruce 14-210 bdebruhl@calpoly.edu T/R/F 1:10-2 In person (email for zoom link if needed)  
Duran, Kirk 14-236 kduran02@calpoly.edu MW 2-3PM, TTH 12:15-1:15 In Person  
Einakian, Sussan 14-202 seinakia@calpoly.edu MW 12:30-1:30 and 4-5:00PM TR 10:30-12:00PM on Zoom in Person, Canvas Inbox, Slack, and Zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/85129492875
Fang, Phoenix 192-332, 14-213 dofang@calpoly.edu R (Tuesday/Thursday) 3:10-5pm In person  
Fox, Kris 14-240 jfox@calpoly.edu Th 1:30-2:30 Zoom In canvas
Frishberg, Daniel 14-223 dfrishbe@calpoly.edu TW 1-3pm In Person  
Gonzalez-Sanchez, Javier 14-227 javiergs@calpoly.edu MF 1pm-3pm In Person  
Grow, April 14-209 amgrow@calpoly.edu MWF 11-12:30pm In person or zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/my/amgrow
Hartman, Bret 192-333 bahartma@calpoly.edu R 11am-12pm, MWF flexible by zoom In Person or zoom  
Hasmik Gharibyan 14-203 hghariby@calpoly.edu MW 11:10am-12pm (in person), TR 5:10pm-6pm (virtual) MW in person, TR zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/85726895412?pwd=NTJWbnI5MDBZZmt6UlBucHc3QmdwQT09
Hatalsky, Paul 14-206 phatalsk@calpoly.edu MWF 2:10-3pm, W 11:10-12, and Piazza In person  
Haungs, Michael 181-221 mhaungs@calpoly.edu TuTh 3-5pm Zoom or in person https://calpoly.zoom.us/my/mhaungs
Ho, Iris 14-240 iwho@calpoly.edu M 10:10am-11am, T 1:10pm–3:00pm, W 9:10-11am, R 1:40pm-3pm, F 9:10am-11am and 1:10pm-3pm In Person and Zoom by request  
Humer, Irene online ihumer@calpoly.edu TR 11-12pm, W 10-12pm Zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/84709317065
Jones, Brian 14-236 btjones@calpoly.edu T 11:10–1/3:10–5, W 2:10–3, R 11:10–12/2:10–3/4:10–5 In person  
Kazerouni, Ayaan 14-229 ayaank@calpoly.edu M 10am–12pm, T 9am–11am In Person or Zoom (upon request by email)  
Kearns, Tim 14-245 tkearns@calpoly.edu Tues Thurs 12:30pm-12:20pm In Person  
Keen, Aaron 14-254 akeen@calpoly.edu M: 11am-12pm, T: 2-3pm, W: 3-4pm In Person  
Khosmood, Foaad 14-204 foaad@calpoly.edu T 1:10-3:00 PM
TWF 5:10-6:00 PM
in person unless arranged otherwise  
Klingenberg, BJ 14-228 bklingen@calpoly.edu MW 11:30am-1:30pm In Person, Zoom https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1DKe-_aGDdJXsr9JWreHNa0Xw5AXalmPp0apWVUg4aPw/edit#gid=0
Kubiak, Ken 14-228 kubiak@calpoly.edu M 11am-1pm, W 1pm-3pm In Person, or Zoom; reserve on Calendly https://calendly.com/kubiak-calpoly/office-hours
Kurfess, Franz 14-203 fkurfess@calpoly.edu TR 4:40 – 5:30pm, M 2:10 – 5:00pm In person  
Kwok, Wesley 192-332 WJKwok@calpoly.edu F 1pm-2pm In Person  
Migler, Andrew Virtual amigler@calpoly.edu MW 1:10-2pm; T 3:30-5:30pm Zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/85605943246
Migler, Theresa 14-226 tmigler@calpoly.edu MWF 9-:10-10, 11:10-12, T 1:10-2 MWF 9-:10-10, 11:10-12(in-person), T 1:10-2 (zoom) https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/88354534940
Mork, Kirsten 14-236 klmork@calpoly.edu MWF 3pm-4pm, TR 2pm-3pm In Person and Zoom MWF, Zoom Only TR https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/86878824352?pwd=aHpVQ1dFTVVESGx0WDlwV2h4ZEV2Zz09
Mukherjee, Joydeep 14-219 jmukherj@calpoly.edu T 9:30am-11:00am, Friday 8:30am-10:00am In Person  
Mukhopadhyay, Sumona 14-217 mukhopad@calpoly.edu MW 1pm-3pm in person  
Nico, Phillip 14-205 pnico@calpoly.edu MWF9-10, T 10-11 in person  
pantoja 14-211 mpanto01@calpoly.edu T/TH 10-11 Wed 10-12 and by appointment in person  
Parkinson, Dave 14-240 dsparkin@calpoly.edu TW 4:30pm-5:30pm Zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/95910049886?pwd=N0lqb0tXUjRBQ1ZXOUJxOElRRVoyQT09
Peterson, Zachary 14-235B znjp@calpoly.edu M 9A-12P Zoom, In Person https://calpoly.zoom.us/my/saladcat
Ravetch, Noah 14-240 nravetch@calpoly.edu MW 3pm-5pm, TR 12:30pm-1:30pm, or by appointment In Person, or Zoom by appointment https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/89831120531?pwd=V1NmT1pyWHlVUzNwOUZvZkNoOVVGQT09
Rivera, Vanessa 14-202 vcrivera@calpoly.edu M 3pm-4pm, T 9am-11am, R 9am-10am MT (In-Person/Walk-in), R (Zoom/By Appointment) Use Canvas to schedule Zoom appointments
Rwebangira, Mugizi 14-218 mrwebang@calpoly.edu MWF 1pm-3pm In Person  
Seng, John 14-231 jseng@calpoly.edu M 1p-2p (in person), T 9a-11a (Zoom), W 7p-8p (Zoom), F 2p-3p (in person)   https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/340489650?pwd=ZzJrakhFNkdLODVtK1dHdzFSMU9lQT09
Sisodis, Dev 14-221 dsisodia@calpoly.edu W 9:10am-11am, 1:10pm-3:00pm In Person and Zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/my/dev.sisodia
Siu, Christopher 14-236 cesiu@calpoly.edu MWF 2:10pm-3:00pm, TR 8:10am-12:30pm and 2:10pm-4:00pm MWF and TR morning in-person, TR afternoon on Zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/my/cesiu
Stanchev, Lubomir 14-230 lstanche@calpoly.edu TR 8-10am In Person  
Teo, Ka Yaw 14-215 kteo@calpoly.edu MR 1pm-2:30pm In Person  
Voelker, Kurt 14-202 kvoelker@calpoly.edu MTWR 12:10-1PM Zoom https://users.csc.calpoly.edu/~kvoelker/
Wang,Jenny 41-222 jwang96@calpoly.edu TTh 1:30 pm to 2:30 pm In person or zoom or by appointment https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/2718120538
Workman, Julie 14-206 jworkman@calpoly.edu MWF 2:10-3pm, W 11:10-12, and Piazza In person  
Assal, Hisham 14-240 hhassal@calpoly.edu By appointment Zoom https://calpoly.zoom.us/j/85827891326?pwd=cDBvSU5sNnMyWlRKamNuUFV6aTBZUT09
Wood, Zoe 192-302 zwood@calpoly.edu M 3:30-4:30 (see ISA office hours as well) zoom  
Ventura, Jonathan 14-235C jventu09@calpoly.edu T 9-11, T 10-11 In Person
             
Staff      
Fiorentino, Leanne 14-254 Administrative Support Coordinator, Department Office & Graduate Program    
Medrano, Teresa 14-254 Finance & Personnel